Lynn Dorfman


[Currently Empty]

1st Vice Chair


Deborah Hollingsworth

2nd Vice Chair

Sarah Sakatos_sm.jpg

Sarah Sakatos

3rd Vice Chair

Gene Biggerstaff



Toni Abernathy

Welcome to the Catawba County Democratic Party website. The Democratic Party is the oldest continuous political party in the world. Historically and today, Democrats hold to an ongoing commitment to personal freedom, equality before the law, economic fairness, the democratic process, and responsible, representative government. We Catawba County Democrats are committed to uphold and promote these worthy traditions.

Democrats are people you see every day in your community, at work, at church, at a store, or at a sports event. We come from all walks of life. We come from varied racial, ethnic, cultural, and socio-economic backgrounds, celebrating the diversity which we believe deepens the meaning of our nation’s motto: “E Pluribus Unum,” (“from the many, one”). Thus, we stand together, committed to the values embodied in the Declaration of Independence, the US Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and expressed most often in the Pledge of Allegiance in which we declare ourselves to be “one nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”

As Catawba County Democrats, we will make it our determined duty to make sure these values are never just words on a piece of old parchment, but instead, living realities in our lives and community. To that end, we shall work diligently to promote representative democracy and a government at all levels that is accountable to the legitimate needs, interests, and aspirations of every person, in a manner that will not diminish human dignity or those fundamental rights which are the birthright of every citizen in a free and democratic nation.

As a political party, it is our purpose to seek, find, and elect candidates who share our beliefs and values. It is to that end that we meet, organize and engage in the democratic political process. Without citizen engagement, representative government cannot endure. Without citizen participation, the freedoms we all cherish will not survive.

Therefore, we invite you to join us.