top of page

New NCDP Officers - Including Catawba County's own Shannon Auer!

On Feb. 27, at the State Executive Committee (SEC) Meeting of the North Carolina Democratic Party, North Carolina Democrats elected Dr. Bobbie Richardson to serve as state party chairwoman. As the first African-American woman to chair the NCDP, Chair Richardson leads one of the most diverse leadership teams in party history.


Former Representative Bobbie Richardson previously served one term as the State party’s first vice-chair. She previously represented Franklin and Nash counties in the North Carolina General Assembly, serving from 2013-2018. Chair Richardson is a retired educator and administrator, with 35 years of experience as an educator in North Carolina public schools.

First Vice-Chair

Former Senator Floyd McKissick was elected first vice chair. McKissick served 13 years in the NC Senate before being appointed by Governor to the NC Utilities Commission where he is currently a Commissioner. He previously served as a County Chair for the Democratic Party in both Durham and Warren Counties and on the NCDP Executive Council.

Second Vice-Chair

Matt Hughes was reelected for a third term as second vice-chair. Matt, the state party’s first out LGBTQ+ officer, has been serving as Second Vice Chair since 2017. A Hillsborough Town Commissioner, Hughes brings a wealth of experience to the NCDP.

Third Vice-Chair

Shannon Auer was elected for her first term as third vice-chair. Shannon is a lifelong Democrat from Catawba County. She has held leadership roles in the Democratic Women of North Carolina and the Young Democrats of North Carolina.


Melvin Williams of Duplin County was reelected as Secretary for his sixth term. He is responsible for meeting minutes and writes the “Good News About Democrats” newsletter.


Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


bottom of page