top of page
2023 Juneteenth Calendar.jpg

Thank you to all who came to our County Convention on April 15. Messages were heard from Anderson Clayton, Governor Roy Cooper and Attorney General Josh Stein. Rob Schofield of NCNewsline (formerly NC Policy Watch) joined us live via Zoom with remarks on the political environment across North Carolina.
Notably, new County Officers were elected. Delegates across Catawba County voted for the slate presented by the Nominating Committee. Our new Officers are as follows: Michael McLamb, Chair; Flavia Dietrich, First Vice Chair; Sarah Sakatos, Second Vice Chair; Deborah Hollingsworth, Third Vice Chair; Rebecca Alt, Secretary. Kevin Sparks was subsequently appointed Treasurer. Bios on each Officer can be found on CCDP’s website.
Many thanks and appreciation go to those who served on the Nominating committee: Kim Bost, Beth Brandes, Kevin Sparks and David Williams.
Looking ahead, Donkey Day is right around the corner. NCDP Chair, Anderson Clayton, will be joining us as our featured guest speaker. Headquarters is busy with activity planning a fun afternoon on Catawba Farms. Expect games, raffles, live music and more. Festivities will begin at 4 pm and conclude at 7 pm.
Turing to elections, state and national offices garner a lot of attention; however, we must not overlook our own municipal and school board elections later this year.


Offices on our 2023 ballot are listed below.


Town Councils:

Brookford Council Members (2)
Catawba Mayor, Council Members (2)
Long View Mayor, Council Members: Ward 3 and 4
Maiden Mayor, Council Members (3)


City Councils:
Claremont Council Members (3)
Conover Council Members (3)
Hickory Council Members: Wards 1, 2, 3, and 4
Newton Mayor, Council Members (3)


School Boards:
Hickory City Wards 4 and 6 and Member at Large
Newton-Conover Newton District (1), Conover District (2)


The filing period for municipal offices is July 7-21. August 18 is the start date for school boards.


This is my first Chair’s message. I’m honored to have been elected and am looking forward to leading this party over the next two years. There is much work ahead of us to elect Democrats in Catawba County and I am thankful we have assembled a great team; one that’s smart, talented, and genuine.


Vote Blue!

Michael McLamb


Catawba County Democratic Party


The Catawba County Democratic Party successfully convened a lively group of enrolled Democrats in Conover on April 15 for the annual County Convention, the first in-person county convention since 2019. Following video remarks from NC Democratic Party Chair Anderson Clayton, Governor Roy Cooper, and Attorney General Josh Stein, delegates were inspired by a rousing keynote address from NC Newsline Editor Rob Schofield. In accordance with the Party Plan of Organization, new officers were elected and are as follows: Chair, Michael McLamb; 1st Vice Chair, Flavia Dietrich; 2nd Vice Chair Sarah Sakatos, 3rd Vice Chair, Deborah Hollingsworth; Secretary, Rebecca Alt. The Party extends its sincerest gratitude to outgoing Chair, Lynn Dorfman who received much applause and appreciation.


bottom of page