top of page

Catawba County Young Dems Chartered; YDNC names new officers

Updated: Apr 17, 2019

On Wednesday, April 3, several members of the Catawba County Young Democrats met in Hickory to cast their vote to become an organized chapter of the Young Democrats of North Carolina. Chair Shannon Auer worked with members for months in seeing the chartering process come to fruition.

On April 13th at the YDNC Annual Convention in Greenville, Shannon Auer was re-elected as YDNC Secretary and CCDP Secretary and CCYD Vice Chair Sarah Sakatos was named as Chair of the Hispanic Caucus for YDNC.

Sarah Sakatos (center) and Shannon Auer (right)

Founded in 1928 by Tyre Taylor, The Young Democrats of North Carolina (YDNC) is the oldest Young Democrats chapter in America and the founding chapter of Young Democrats of America. The vision of the Young Democrats of North Carolina is to make North Carolina a better place by promoting its issues, its young people, and the spirit of the Democratic Party.

YDNC is the official youth arm of the North Carolina Democratic Party (NCDP). The President and the two National Committee Representatives serve on the State Executive Council of the NCDP, which governs the North Carolina Democratic Party.

YDNC is organized at the county level. Any group of 5 or more young Democrats can organize within their county as an official chapter of YDNC. Active membership is open to any Democrat under the age of 36. In addition to county chapter members, all chartered members of the College Democrats of North Carolina and the North Carolina Association of Teen Democrats are considered voting members of the YDNC.


Recent Posts

See All


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page